Sign In Chef


No account yet? Sign up.

Forgot your password?


Maple Syrup

light bulb

In this Lesson you will Learn

  1. What is the difference between different grades of maple syrup?
  2. Is maple syrup healthy?

Maple syrup comes in three grades, either A-C or 1-3 depending on where you live. Syrups in Grade A or Grade 1 are lighter and more mild tasting than the intensely-flavored and darker syrups in grades B/2 or C/3. Your typical all-purpose table syrup is Grade A or 1, while Grade B or 2 can be used well in baking.1 Whatever you do, pass up the maple-flavored corn syrup sold as pancake syrup or table syrup. You can do much better!

Like honey and other "natural" sweeteners, maple syrup should still be consumed in moderation.

Nutrition DNA

The nutrition DNA of maple syrup. For example, you can see that 1 tablespoon maple syrup covers 40% of your daily allowance of sugar and 23% of the recommended Manganese intake. Hover over the bars to see which nutrient is covered.


  1. Maple Syrup Grading


  1. Grade A or Grade 1 maple syrup is used as table syrup and Grade B or Grade 2 maple syrup is used in baking.
  2. Maple syrup still contains sugar and should be eaten in moderation.
Mark as Learned
next lesson » Mayonnaise